A Federal High Court sitting in Owerri has ordered the arrest of five Imo State government officials for contempt of court.

Justice Lewis Alagoa, presiding over the civil suit filed by a former Interior Minister, Emmanuel Iheancho, against Imo government, gave the order due to the absence of all the defendants in court.

The court had during its sitting on Nov. 14, 2016, summoned all the defendants to appear before it on Dec. 8, 2016, but none of them showed up.

Counsel to the defendants, Mrs J. C. Ibe, told the court that the respondents had filed an appeal against the earlier order of the court.

However, counsel to the plaintiff, Chief Ken Njemanze (SAN), said that his client was not aware of any appeal by the respondents as claimed by their counsel.

Alagoa, hearing the arguments of the counsels, made the subsequent order and fixed may 2 for continuation of the case.

The affected officials are, the Commissioner for Works and Transport, Mrs Josephine Udoji, the Commissioner for Lands, Survey, Mr Lawrence Eburuoh and Urban Planning and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Works Dr Chibuzor Iwuagwu, among others.

Leave a Reply