The academic members of staff of three tertiary institutions in Osun State have declared the immediate commencement of an indefinite strike action.

The strike action according to them is over 18 months of outstanding salaries and other entitlements owed by the Osun State Government.

The three institutions involved are Osun State Polytechnic in Iree, Osun State College of Technology in Esa-Oke and Osun State College of Education in Ila Orangun.

Spokesperson for the Academic Staff Unions of Polytechnics (ASUP) in all the institutions, Jacob Adegbite, after a congress held at Iree campus today told newsmen that the action is imperative in order to register their grievances to the state government.

However, Osun State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Lani Baderinwa, in his response said it will be wrong for the workers to go on strike.

He noted that the state government had earlier held a meeting with the workers and some agreements were reached.


Leave a Reply